ORMHOF Announces Class of 2019

Another round of heavy industry hitters has been announced to the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. A secret meeting consisting of 21 members of the off-road community poured over 50 nomination packets. They then voted independently. Nominees who received votes from two thirds of the nomination committee were considered for induction. The nominees for 2019 are Frank Arciero Jr., Lynn Chenowth, Bobby Ferro, Robby Gordon, David Higgins, and Steve Morris. These nominees will join 99 others who have already been inducted over the years. Criteria for induction includes a lifelong contribution to off-road motorsports.

Frank Arciero Jr. has a decorated career in off-road racing. His team was the first to introduce bypass shocks into stadium short-course racing. He also brought Toyota TRD engines to the buggy classes and helped Chevrolet develop a four-wheel drive for racing.

Lynn Chenowth has built dozens of winning chassis and helped pioneer the open-wheel classes of off-road racing. He built over 25,000 sand buggy frames that ended up in garages of off-road enthusiasts worldwide.

Bobby Ferro became the first driver to solo and win the Baja 1000 on four wheels. In the 1970s he was the driver to beat, racking up over 25 overall wins. With a day job as a Hollywood stuntman, he took safety seriously and petitioned race organizers to make arm restraints and window nets mandatory.

Robby Gordon has and is competing in almost every form of motorsports worldwide. Gordon has dozens of wins under his belt. In 2018, he launched a UTV that he designed exclusively for Artic Cat called the Wildcat XX. The design is based of his extensive years of knowledge of off-road racing. Gordon also founded Stadium Super Truck racing based on a concept that Mickey Thompson started in the 1980s.

David Higgins is known for rally racing, which is now a growing category in the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame. Higgins was born on the Isle of Man, a country known for motorsports. Higgins has dozens of championships and was undefeated in the 2015 season of the Rally America National Championship.

Steve Morris is an advocate for keeping lands open in the off-road community. He helped start Cal4Wheel in 1959. Today Morris is still one of 12 owners of the Rubicon Springs property which has helped preserve access to the Rubicon trail system.


The Class of 2019 will be inducted into the Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame during a ceremony held in Las Vegas in November.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: